Mew Review II: Raw-Dehy Treats and Random Extras

Nature’s Variety: Rawboost Minis vs. Visvit Snacks for Cats

This week our meows had the opportunity to try out Nature’s Variety Instinct Rawboost Minis. They are already on a main diet that consists of raw dehydrated elements, so I am always on the look out for other raw treats.

(The good thing about feeding raw food/treats as opposed to other cooked or baked food/snacks is that it is not as easy for the meows to put on the pounds with raw (my meows eat a lot, but are still in good shape. I am also glad I need not feel any guilt in handing out treats to my meows, haha..)

For variety’s sake, I usually avoid Tuna and Chicken when selecting treats as these already feature in their main diet, so for treats I tend to look out for Duck or Turkey. If none are available, I’d go for Salmon or Mussel raw-dehy treats.

Rawboost Minis comes in Chicken and Duck, whilst Visvit comes in  Fish, Chicken, Chicken Liver, Duck and Duck Liver. So naturally I went with the Duck/Duck liver versions.

2014-10-16-11-45-22_deco 2014-10-16-11-46-09_deco

At $13.80 for 63grams, the box of Rawboost Minis is more than twice the price of the Visvit’s 20 grams for $5.90. That said, this also happens to be the third package of Visvit we’ve gotten the meows as we go through them quite quickly so its popularity is quite obvious 🙂 Not that the meows can resist the Rawboost either. I personally think it might be better to get the Rawboost if there’s more than one meow about, so that there’s more of the stuff to go around.

Our meows get their raw-dehy treats handfed, one at a time, to prevent any tussles. They really love these treats and will obey commands like kiss, sit and stand when these treats are being used as rewards. For this reason, the Visvit pieces are not as ideal to handfeed, when compared to the larger Rawboost Minis nuggets.

My fingers get chomped on A LOT, so giving them the Visvit is not exactly my favourite experience. Each Visvit piece disappears as soon as it goes in the mouth. This causes a lot of anxiety in Dyllis and I can actually feel her stress levels rise, and her chomps get more intense.

From my observations, they seem to be more at ease with the Rawboost nuggets, as the morsel is bigger, they seem to worry less about me handing out more treats to the rival meow. They eat slower and I don’t get attacked by shark-bite! (For actual photos of the nuggets themselves, just google for images.. there are loads online :P)

Each Rawboost nugget disintegrates easily, into a powder form (similar in texture to a Primal raw-dehy nugget) so sometimes I do have to clean the floor up after treat time, but I do not really mind, as this means I can also break each nugget apart for feeding, if it happens that the nugget is too large, or if I want to limit their intake.

Each Visvit piece is already so tiny, there is truly no need to reduce it in size. In fact, it might be a great product improvement, if they could increase the size of each piece by 150 – 200%. In my case, it would make the human a happier customer since the meows don’t care anyway, as long as the treat tastes great 😛

Earthbath Tooth and Gum Wipes 

After agonising over toothbrushes and toothpaste, I finally decided to go the way of the humble wipe.

I know this will probably not leave their teeth as clean as the practice of brushing, but I certainly do not wish to have my cats runaway each time they see me coming with a toothbrush. Chasing the both of them down each time for teeth brushing will also be quite stressful for everyone concerned.

Both meows are currently accepting of body and ear wipes and I do not wish to undo the huge amount of conditioning that has made this situation even possible. For Dyllis, she has made huge, positive progress in allowing her human to clean her ears without so much as an unsheathed claw or whimper.

For weeks prior to purchase, I had already been opening their mouths to inspect their teeth, so I was hopeful of similar success (to the ear wipes) with the Earthbath tooth and gum wipes.

2014-10-16-11-46-51_deco

It kind of worked. There was a bit of initial fuss, but not too much.

The first time the tooth wipes appeared, they were a little uneasy at having something in their mouth, once they realised that it was not going to be just a regular mouth observation. So I went slow and made gentle movements for just a few seconds at a time, not really caring about cleaning anything, but to condition them to the minty taste and texture of the wipe.

We have had 3 such sessions so far. They put up with it fairly well so I think it will become a part of the regular routine.

Random Grooming Shears

By chance, I found out that Daiso does sell grooming shears last year. This is a photo of my latest pair, and I am still actively using the previous pair. At $2 it is a really good steal!

2014-10-16-11-48-48_deco

Dexter always has wayward butt fur that tangles up with the cat litter and other unmentionables. So this really comes in handy to trim down around the butt. Of course he doesn’t enjoy it, so I like that the point of the shears is blunt and that I am less likely to ram it into anything, in case of a struggle.

Regular shears will work too, but they leave the fur in a very unnatural crop whenever I try. Looking at the aftermath always makes me feel bad for my poor fur-trimming skills. Thankfully cutting with these is more forgiving 😛

Cotton On Kids Apparel

I have always enjoyed looking at Cotton On Kids’ clothing, so when Dyllis came along, we got her a few newborn-sized (0 months) tank tops from Cotton On 🙂

I altered the pink one, to shorten the straps, but thankfully I left the other purple one in its original state or it would not have fit Dexter’s broader shoulders. The tank tops were $5 each, from a post-season sale. I then added a pink Cotton On Kids bow to Dyllis’ top but Dexter did not allow me to put his on xD

I’ll leave it to the meows to show you their response, whilst I sign off for now 😛

Ribbon with an applique star and faux fur on left, $6.95; and elastic headband with pink fabric and cord ribbon on right, $2.00.

Dyllis’ “Ah huh, I know I look good.. You don’t have to tell me..” face.

Dyllis x Cotton On Kids

 Dexter’s “Bleahhhhhhh!” face xD

"Bleah!!" Dexter x Cotton On Kids

Dyllis x Cotton On Kids  Dexter x Cotton On Kids

One comment


Leave a Reply

