Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 191

I am so happy to see clearer skies this week here in Singapore! My throat and nasal passages join me in thanksgiving ^^ They still feel swollen, but cleaner air, even if just slightly cleaner, is ALWAYS a welcome improvement.

After hitting a real physical low and being in much pain last week, I am happy, almost gleeful, that I have been able to get many things done and out of the way as possible, these couple of days.

To ‘celebrate’ I decided to start tangling in my new-old (or is it old-new), upcycled art journal. In Jan 2011, I purchased this little gem of a journal from Marmalime on Etsy. (See item page on Etsy: _https://www.etsy.com/transaction/41184876 ) (Clicking the images below will take you to Flickr.)

New-old/Old-new Upcycled Art Journal

New-old/Old-new Upcycled Art Journal

It is an entirely handbound journal, using upcycled and recycled materials. The cover is made from upcycled plastic from a Canadian factory and is lined on the inside with felt made from recycled plastic bottles. The pages are 98lb acid free, mixed media, recycled paper and each section is lined with a sheet of black cardstock.

I love upcycling and giving fresh life to the mundane. So this journal really ‘spoke’ to me and I am a fan of Marmalime’s stuff.

New-old/Old-new Upcycled Art Journal

I loved it so much that after writing just a page of thoughts in it, I hoarded.. ahem HID it away for some time and gradually, I forgot about all about it.

Just last month, I re-discovered it whilst moving my craft desk into another part of my home and I was super ecstatic to find it again. It was EXACTLY what I had been looking for –  I had been scouring around many craft, scrapping and stationery shops since July for an appropriate art journal to contain my growing tangling addiction, and I was getting to the point where I was thinking of compiling loose leaves into a binder with see through sleeves. I might do that at some point, but I kind of wanted something with more character of its own, and something I could tuck into my bag without adding too much more weight (does anyone else get teased about carrying a “ton of bricks”??). Measuring approximately A6 (15cm x 10.5cm) in size and about 3.5cm thick, this journal is perfect to tote around!

I am really SO thrilled about my rediscovery (oh indeed, the small things!) and whilst watching (Lee Haru and Choo Sarang on Superman Returns) reruns, I allowed my tangles to flow freely 🙂

New-old/Old-new Upcycled Art Journal
New-old/Old-new Upcycled Art Journal

It appears I STILL have NOT gotten all the leafy piles out of my system xD xD This is probably my _th pile!

Oh well ^^ Happy problem 🙂

Diva Challenge 191 – Betweed

This week the challenge requires us to draw Betweed in a monotangle.

Believe it or not, I had never tried Betweed prior to this challenge, so the video was really helpful 😛

Each time I watch the official tangle videos, I am struck once again, by how easy and uncomplicated Maria makes every stroke look 🙂 Also – another realisation : What Maria can do in a few minutes always takes me much longer, sometimes forever 😛 😛

Without further ado, here’s my tangle for the week..

Diva Challenge Wk 191 - Betweed

If you look closer, you’ll spot some issues I had with my white Sakura Gelly Roll pen 😛 😛

I guess I am not doing this clever tangle any justice in this week’s challenge but I certainly have made mental notes to incorporate it more often from now on 🙂

Signing off here to visit your blogs ^^

9 comments

  1. Betweed will get easier if you use it more. It looks wonderful. I LOVE your little book. I buy them like crazy and most of them only have a few pages filled. Just getting a new book is such a great feeling, and it doesn’t seem to matter if I use it at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 192 « . the 5tudio

  3. Pingback: Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 199 & Zenuari 1st Week « . the 5tudio


Leave a Reply

