Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 192

This week is relatively less hazy than the last and we’ve got workers scaling the external walls of our apartment again (read: this is the 4th time in the past 2 months) and all our windows cannot be open whilst they work.

Please excuse me if there are any nonsensical words or grammar offences in my post. I am dizzy from oxygen deprivation and switching on the air conditioning only made me sneeze non-stop (which is weird because we leave the air conditioning on every night whilst we sleep. If we don’t it is way too warm to sleep) so I turned it off. Needless to say, this was how I ended up with a huge migraine which is now into its third day. It is all rather annoying because I am prepping for MAAD Pyjamas this Friday and really DO need to focus!

Ah, the various trials and tribulations of working from home! Oh well back to the topic…

This week the challenge calls for a rendition of Cris Letourneau’s Seton, inspired by the glass windows at her parish church. Cris is covering for the Diva whilst little Artoo goes for eye surgery.

Despite being relatively new to tangling, I have already noticed that I am quite disastrous at all the tangles that require grids 😛 So I used Cris’ renaissance tile as inspiration – this allowed me to tangle up Seton in a curvy, more forgiving manner, whilst still sticking to a grid formation.

For my string I took one of my 3 inch square strathmore cold press cards (stockist: Time2split on Etsy) which I have recently developed a new fondness for, and used it to trace a “frame” across two pages of my art journal (stockist: Marmalime on Etsy). By the way, these strathmore cold press cards are sturdy and of good texture, and are as lovely to draw on as the official tiles from Zentangle. They are perfect for when a Bijou tile feels too small and a regular ZT tile feels too large – especially on days when I am too tied up with orders and stall prep, but still want to tangle.

I’d seen some very talented tanglers overlap journal pages this way with their tangles, and I decided to see if I could get it to work for me too. I decided to keep it simple with just Seton and Flux in a duotangle 🙂

Diva Challenge Wk 192 Seton

I had not anticipated (or planned) that I could turn the loose ends into ‘ribbons’ and was quite pleasantly surprised. At my ‘discovery’, I decided to add a dose of playfulness so I created the loop at the top to ‘hold it all down’ with a Pokeroot-inspired pin 😛

Diva Challenge Wk 192 Seton

I love the loads of movement in my end result. This is the first time I am enjoying a grid based tangle this much 🙂 Thank you, Cris!

Signing off to visit everyone else’s work 🙂

10 comments

  1. Pingback: Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 193 « . the 5tudio


Leave a Reply

