Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 199 & Zenuari 1st Week

Greetings, this is my first ZT-related post this year. I hope everyone is well 🙂

Although we’re only just a week into 2015, this year looks set to be a year of busy. My schedule has been penciled into, as far as mid-April already!

I harbour a lot of hopes and anticipation for this year and I believe that it will be a year of restoration and new beginnings in my life. I am sensing the reversal of the tides in my life, and I am very pleased to count my participation in the upcoming CZT Training #18 as one of the few blessings strewn across my path.

I am so pleased that some of you who are attending CZT #18 have reached out to me in friendship – Thank you! – it makes the adventure (I am travelling solo across the globe to be there) less daunting, as I look forward to putting faces behind the names.

This January, I will also be attending my first ZT 101 class.

Sometime around late December, I contacted newly-minted Singapore CZT Mabel Yap and found that we just ‘clicked’. I had, much earlier in the year, contacted the first two Singaporean CZTs (Mabel is the third) about classes and did not receive any response. No matter, really, all is well 🙂 Mabel was completely warm and encouraging and to my delight, she invited me to attend her first ever class, which she was organising for friends-only! I am beyond excited 😛

I should stop my gushing here, but I am deeply encouraged, by what I see as ‘progress’, and equally elated that things are looking up after so long  2015 is looking set to be one exciting year ^^

Zenuari Challenge Week 1 Compilation

Last year through Swapbot, I met two lovely ladies, Anoeska and Aly from the Netherlands, who simply LOVE to tangle. Across the many swaps and miles between us, we have struck up a firm friendship, which I appreciate because I have no immediate friends here in my circle that like tangling, if at all.

Anoeska has issued a challenge she ingeniously calls Zenuari which is a daily challenge for the month of January 2015. I nearly missed this challenge due to my post-Christmas food coma recovery period, and Aly was very sweet to tag me over Instagram and this caught my attention even though I was certainly quite out of it 😛

Do join us if it catches your fancy! Here is the link to Anoeska’s Zenuari blog entry 🙂

Here is a small compilation of my first week at Zenuari ^^ [clicking on the images will take you to Flickr]

Day 1 – 2015

I was so excited that I had been given a shiny new Intuos Pen and Touch Tablet for Christmas, I decided to use it to kick off the Zenuari challenge 😛 I don’t know if I regret the decision xD My digital tangles leave a lot wanting xD But here it is nonetheless xD
Zenuari Challenge Day 1 - 2015

Day 2 – Stars

I’d wanted sparkly, so I used some old nail polish to create the back drop for my star, not realising that the miniscule sparkles would not show up on camera xD So here the background looks kinda dull xD I also cheated for my string – I could not, for the life of me manage to draw a decent looking star! I had to resort to using a cookie cutter instead, but who cares, it works! 😛

Zenuari Challenge Day 2 - Stars

Zenuari Challenge Day 2 - Stars
Day 3 – Official tangles only

Feeling ambitious, and a bit overly confident, I decided to try out my largest ever ZIA attempt. For me, it is a major feat because of its sheer size. I was drawn to tangling mainly because of the small tile sizes, and I was happy and content, for the longest time to stick to 3″ and 3.5″ square tiles. Even when I ventured on to create ZIA postcards, I still stuck to the official tile size as a guide 😛 Enter the gorgeous, archival quality Shikishi board! My, I couldn’t wait to start on it, the moment I laid my eyes on it 😛

Traditionally, Chinese and Japanese calligraphers mounted their works on boards such as these for posterity. These boards were sturdy, beautifully hand-crafted and painstakingly gold-leafed. I am sure modern processes have replaced the hand-crafted ones with machines, but there is no doubt about it – the paper is still very heavy weight, and utterly beautiful.

We can still purchase these boards locally in Singapore, through the Japanese bookstore Kinokuniya and its stationary arm, A’n’BC. I got mine, measuring 9 1/2″ x 10 1/2″ (24.2cm x 27.2cm), approx 2mm thick, with gold leaf bordering, at SGD2.10 a board (which I consider a steal). The Shikishi boards come in different sizes, but they were not available that particular day (nor did it make any difference to me, for I was already infatuated.)

Back at home, I became a little intimidated by the thought of tangling directly onto the beautiful, unblemished surface of the board (people actually do so, just google) and so I started off on Kraft paper where I drew leaves into my string.

Since we were to use only official tangles, I took it to mean official, Zentangle-HQ-issued tangles. I used 17 tangles in all, learning some of them for the very first time.

In all, it took me a couple of days to fill my string, after which I mounted the kraft paper onto the Shikishi ^^

Zenuari Challenge Day 3 - Official Tangles Only

Zenuari Challenge Day 3 - Official Tangles Only

I know this isn’t really LARGE and I am sure lots and lots of people have tangled up even larger pieces, but it is a major feat for me 🙂 I am ecstatic to have managed to pull it off!

Below is my shikishi board pictured with official Zentangle and Bijou tiles for a quick size comparison.

Zenuari Challenge Day 3 - Official Tangles Only

Achievement unlocked!

Day 4 –  No strings

After the mental (over)assertion that was Day 3’s challenge, I decided to stick to smaller tiles this time 😛 Groovy is a tangle I haven’t played with for awhile, so here it is without any strings, Flux, and some shading. I also used one of my tortillions for the first time, but I cannot seem to get the hang of it 😛

Zenuari Challenge Day 4 - No Strings

Day 5 – Black out

Coming in handy is this heavy weight chipboard ATC blank which arrived to me in three colours, white, kraft and black. I’d found uses for the white and kraft ones, but had not tried out the black, till this piece 🙂

My Sakura Gelly Roll proved a cantankerous companion, even though I was using it the way ZT HQ had suggested, hence some lines were more heavily weighted than others 😛

Zenuari Challenge Day 5 - Blackout
Day 6 – Word

For Day 6, we were to pick a word and feature it in our tangle. I decided to go with “Zenuari” – what is more appropriate than that? It is cute, unique and well, better sounding than say, Zen-bruari? xD

Out came my calligraphy pen for this one ^^
Zenuari Challenge Day 6 - Word
Day 7 – Duotangle

Today’s challenge was done in real time.

I think my brain must have outran my own over-ambition, or quite equally possibly, it is just my brain has run away altogether – I blame the flu bug I caught!! – so I am back to tangling on a Bijou tile 😛

I enjoy Huggins more now, than I ever did before. Not too sure why, but Huggins seems to be the only grid based tangle I can manage to pull off without pulling out my hair 😛 Inapod was another tangle I hadn’t played with in a few months, so I decided to use it here 🙂

Zenuari Challenge Day 7 - Duotangle

More tortillion practice is required of me, I think.

Diva Challenge Wk 199 – UMT Hitch

For the challenge, I tried out Hitch for the first time.

As usual for me and most UMT challenges, I just simply could not get it to ‘look pretty’. It is a shame, I checked out some challenge entries before trying my hand at it, and they were just altogether lovely.

In the end, I decided to abandon the linear versions I was trying to accomplish and did a semi-grid, which turned out prettier than all my previous attempts. By which time, too, I was quite exhausted mentally and I just wanted to put down my Micron 😛 and so I kept it ultra plain and simple, for a change, which unexpectedly left me feeling quite satisfied.

Here’s Hitch with Rain and Beadlines, very simple and airy 🙂 I am charmed by how Hitch looks like a Celtic cross and also a dreamcatcher, at the same time.

I may or may not add to it later, but for now, I am all for it’s delicate, breezy look…..

Diva Challenge Week 199 - UMT Hitch

Other ZIA inspired pieces..

Here are some other pieces I’ve created recently.. whilst I run off to visit challenge entries ^^

Zentangle Inspired Art Postcard

 

ZIA Postcard with Swedish old book paper – for my bestie ^^

Zentangle Inspired Art Postcard

 

ZIA Postcard with old book paper, for sale on Carousell

Zentangle Inspired Art

 Tangling over Christmas in my upcycled journal 🙂

Zentangle Inspired Art

P.S. Thanks for all the visits and comments. They are always much appreciated ❤

P.P.S If you should require a response from me, or have any questions, I may be contacted at hesedetang[at]gmail.com 🙂 Have a great week!

12 comments

  1. Hi again and Happy New Year. I really enjoyed reading your post. In spite of the miles and the years that separate us, our approaches to Zentangle are remarkably similar. Your artwork is lovely and the Hitch tile looks so good, not in spite of the white space, bit because of it.

    I too have a wonderfuk CZT who lives nearby and I hope you enjoy working with yours as much as I do mine. I envy you that trip to Rhode Island and I’m sure you will get a lot out of it, not just with the art but with the friendships that will grow there.

    So I look forward to your next post and our next Diva Challenge. Bye for now, M

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi M!

      Thank you for dropping by. Yes! I am looking forward to CZT Training because it will equip me with much needed tools to kickstart a brand new chapter in my life. I would love to be able to conduct lessons and workshops with different age groups and all walks of life. My end-goal is to create a ‘social enterprise’ that would allow me to work with ex-convicts trying to reintegrate into society. How that will happen I do not know yet, and perhaps this is the beauty of ‘taking a leap of faith’, so to speak – in that we do not know where things will lead 🙂

      Till the next Diva Challenge 🙂
      xx

      Like

  2. A wonderful Post. Your Diva Challenge is so delightful. Love your design. The delightful “Hitched” pattern would look awesome as a stained glass piece. I so enjoy your creativity and outlook on life. You will be an awesome CZT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for issuing the challenge!! ❤ I do feel a bit self-conscious posting all of my work on Insta, so I am really touched you paid my blog a visit just to see them.. Thank you so much xoxo

      Like

  3. I am also looking forward to meeting you IRL (In Real Life) in Providence in April at CZT #18. I imagine you will definitely be in the running for the prize for coming the farthest. (PS: It is my imaginary prize). You are clearly an inspired, diligent tanglist. I hope I’ll catch some of your spark. Happy New Year!

    Like


Leave a Reply

