Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 200 & Zenuari 2nd Week

How are we halfway into January 2015? Well I am still kinda in a post Christmas haze…! There’s much to do and tangle and I certainly hope I get out of my sloth mode really soon xD

Zenuari Challenge Week 2 Compilation

Do join us if a daily challenge is your thing. Here is the link to Anoeska’s Zenuari blog entry 🙂

Here is my compilation of my second week at Zenuari ^^ [clicking on the images will take you to Flickr]

Day 8 – Background Wash

I struggled with this one, for quite a long time. I don’t really paint anything except my own nails, so I did play with the idea of using nail polish for my background wash. I actually attempted to do so on a few tiles but I ruined them once my Microns hit the painted surface xD Eventually I used a colour pen, which was supposedly yellow 😛 It came out bright orange, oh well.

Anyway here it is.. I cheated – I tweaked it down a notch using my photo editor xD I tangled up Cockles & Mussels into my ING and embellished with Mooka & Kelp. Pretty ordinary, save for the garish hues.

Zenuari Challenge Day 8 - Background Wash  Zenuari Challenge Day 8 - Background Wash

Day 9 – Winter

The last time I’d experienced a proper Winter with ice and snow was in South Korea, in 2011. As much as I love Winter, the cold, and snowflakes, I live in the tropics and it was kinda difficult to think about Winter for this challenge because the days are bright and blustery here.

I ended up drawing a mini-dala using Fife as the beginning of my snowflake. This was probably not the best choice, because my snowflake looks too much like a flower xD

Zenuari Challenge Day 9 - Winter

Day 10 – Blind String

I love blind string challenges and this one was no exception ^^

Flux and Sand Swirl literally flowed out of my pen as I did this one. However, I spent a LONG time trying to think of how to fill up the oval space, and almost wanted to use Meringue to do so 😛 But I left it in the end because I thought it looked quite cute just like that, with the empty, airy, centre 🙂

Zenuari Challenge Day 10 - Bind String

Zenuari Challenge Day 10 - Bind String

Day 11 –  Zendala Sunday

Whilst catching up with my aunt and cousin sometime last week, we chanced upon a craft shop clearance corner. I found a few pieces of very pretty scrapbooking paper which I thought would make great tangle surfaces.

Although not as tempting as the Shikishi board I played with last week, this piece certainly had its own charm. I tangled a large ‘dala with a Cross in the centre, using a teal coloured pen.

The colours weren’t exactly what I had in my mind, so I again, tweaked the colours with editing software. And voila ^^ I am very pleased!

Zenuari Challenge Day 11 - Zendala Sunday

Zenuari Challenge Day 11 - Zendala Sunday

Day 12 – Biggify

Since I usually draw my Sand Swirls tiny, I picked this to use, large.

Zenuari Challenge Day 12 - Biggify

I should have used my Blind String tile from above for a better size comparison photo 😛 It would have been nice to see tiny and large Sand Swirls side by side 😛 Oh well. Zenuari Challenge Day 12 - Biggify

Day 13 – Use tangles that start with your initials

I picked Dust Bunnies & Lily Padz for this one – and my, they make a cute couple! Don’t they?

Zenuari Challenge Day 13 - Initialise

Tangled on old book paper, mounted on a postcard blank.

Zenuari Challenge Day 13 - Initialise

Day 14 – Circles

This is actually tomorrow’s challenge 😛 I figured I’d not be able to get to it in time anyway, so I decided to do the challenge and upload it together with this post ^^

What better than to marry Printemps and Cruffle? I couldn’t leave out Tipple, so I tangled some in as well ^^

Zenuari Challenge Day 14 - Circles

Diva Challenge Wk 200 – Bi-Zen-tennial Celebration

It’s the 200th challenge over at the Diva’s! Wow 🙂 I cannot help but feel a sense of awe at some tanglers who have completed ALL 200 challenges! It is quite an acheivement to celebrate, indeed!

For this challenge we were to pick our “mac-&cheese” tangle, in other words, our ‘go-to’ or most-often-used tangle, and feature it in a monotangle. Somewhere on the tile, the number 200 must be visible.

I picked Trentwith – it was a toss up between Trentwith, Mooka and Sanibelle 😛 I added a few spots of colour, just for fun.

Diva Challenge Wk 200 - Bi-zen-tennial

Diva Challenge Wk 200 - Bi-zen-tennial

And with this, I shall sign off to visit other entries ^^

Till next week!

P.S. Thanks for all the visits and comments. They are always much appreciated ❤

P.P.S If you should require a response from me, or have any questions, I may be contacted at hesedetang[at]gmail.com 🙂 Have a great week!

12 comments

  1. Wow . You have been a very busy tangler. I’ll comment on your Bizentennial tile since that’s the challenge I did. I’ve never seen the Trentwith tangle before. You made it into an interesting monotangle. However, I must confess that I don’t see the 200. I suspect the problem is me not seeing something right under my nose.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve given Trentwith a lot of class, Debbie. I love your use of size variation and line weight. I’ve used Trentwith and really like it. I’m glad that you chose it for this challenge. Your Zenuari challenges are awesome. Wait until they get a load of you in Providence. You do beautiful work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww – you are too kind. I love Trentwith – it is completely addictive to tangle! I could use it on everything, if allowed 😛 I am sure everyone at CZT training has something unique to offer – I really can’t wait ^^

      Like

  3. I’ve just discovered your blog and I love your drawing style! Could I just ask what you use to draw the thick lines? Do you use a special thick-nibbed pen, or do you draw two lines with a thin pen and colour in the middle?

    Like

    • Hi Magdalene – lovely of you to drop by and leave me a comment! I vary between my Microns for line weight, ie. I use 005, 01 and 05 and on rare occasions, I resort to a 2mm that is one end of a dual tip marker called ZIG Fabricolor (the other end being a brush). Even though I originally bought the Fabricolor to decorate a little tote bag, which I gave up on 😛 so I decided to not let it go to waste 😛 Cheers!

      Like

      • Oh, I thought your lines look thicker than a 05 micron! I have a 08, I’ll try that. You really have a unique style, everything you draw looks like stencils.

        Like


Leave a Reply

