Zentangles – Diva Challenge Wk 201 – 204 & Zenuari compilation

Sometime in the last weeks of January, I got really tied up with a bunch of new projects and some custom orders. I relish each of these milestones, and looking back at my crafting year always reminds me of how far I have come and fills me with a sense of gratitude and thanksgiving. So despite these entries being late, I am glad to be back with them.

For example, I ended up getting so busy that I have still not completed the last 14 days of the Zenuari challenge. I am going to leave it as that and put up the ones which I have done, but I don’t think I will ever get a chance to go back to the missing entries and finish them off.

I might have felt a sense of distress at not having completed the entire month’s challenge, had I held on to my previous self. Alas, I have actively decided not to lose sleep over such things anymore.

I have come to the realization that one can only manage to do so much. It is better to accomplish what I can in my time, with my best effort, than try to accomplish everything and not succeed at anything, in the end.

Zenuari Challenge Compilation

Day 17 – Tangleations

Here’s Sanibelle in a linear and spherical form, paired with Tipple, Huggins and Flux. Also added a little bit of fun with hearts within the negative space 🙂 [as always, clicking on the images will take you to Flickr]

"... consider the wildflowers..." Luke 12:25-27 MSG   #ink #zentangle #zentangles #hesedetangdoodles #tangle #tangles Am really far behind with the #zenuari #challenge

Day 19 – Let someone else draw the string

The D.H. drew this string for me and I was quite stumped for a long time. I kept rotating the tile for a long time 😛 In the end Sanibelle (again!!!), Meringue and Hollibaugh flowed out of my pen 🙂 Flux, Knot Rickz, Auraleah, Crescent Moon leaves added a bit of variety to the tangled pile.

"Walk into the fields... " Luke 12:25-27 MSG   #ink #zentangle #zentangles #hesedetangdoodles #tangle #tangles Am really far behind with the #zenuari #challenge

Other remaining tiles from the Zenuari challenge…

Here’s Monotangle (day 18, top), Spirals (day 22, lower left) and Frame (day 20, lower right).

Zenuari

Diva Challenge Wk 201 – Moebius Day

At University in Australia, I once had a friend who suffered from the Moebius syndrome. Unfortunately, he did not like talking about his condition, and we all learnt not to ask questions, even the well-intended ones. Despite his physical appearances, I always thought him brilliant, and I always respected the boundaries he put up when he was with me. This was a decade ago, now, and drawing up this challenge did make me think of him and my other University friends, all of whom I have lost touch with, since returning to Singapore.

For the challenge I used a strip of kraft paper, silver gel pen and my Brown 05 Micron. It was my first time ever making a moebius strip!

Diva Challenge Wk 201 - Moebius Day

Diva Challenge Wk 201 - Moebius Day

If you spot some shiny glittery dots, these were added using lilac glitter nail polish ^^ [the Diva had suggested using purple ^^]

Diva Challenge Wk 201 - Moebius Day

Diva Challenge Wk 202 – Duotangle: Chebucto vs. Copada

For this challenge I feel the need to confess that I really hated my resulting tile 😛 I had never drawn Chebucto before this, and I had only played with Copada twice. I omitted the lines to make Copada less ‘linear’, and I tried it in a sphere as well, to give it a twist.

Oh well.. Here goes 😛

Diva Challenge Wk 202 - Duotangle Chebucto vs. Copada

Diva Challenge Wk 203 – UMT Athizi

I had a sudden thirst for colour one day and decided to lightly shade a tile with red, orange and yellow. I left it alone for a spell, not really knowing how to proceed next 😛 When Athizi by Seven, was issued as a challenge, I decided to use this shaded tile and make it as simple and uncomplicated as I could.

At the time, I was going through a few days of uncertainty and my brain was feeling very cluttered and I really only wanted to ‘switch off’. I didn’t want a string either, so I just decided to let Athizi flow on its own in a monotangle.

Diva Challenge Wk 203 UMT Athizi

I found that I really enjoyed Athizi, and I will probably use it again soon.

Diva Challenge Wk 204 – Valentangle

This week’s challenge is one that I have enjoyed, even though I do not celebrate Valentine’s Day, myself. Here in Singapore (and probably elsewhere in the world), Valentine’s Day is entirely a commercial event. I applaud those who go to great lengths to shower their loved ones with proclamations of love and endearment, but I have actually had no interest in taking part in Valentine’s Day since I first started dating anybody 😛 Love however, ought to be celebrated daily. And it is with this mindset that I began on my tile.

I enjoy Hollibaugh and have used it often in my tangles, yet I had never tried it within an enclosed shape. In January, I learnt this at a class and I thought to give it a spin for my Valentangle.

Here is my tile from that class…

#heart with silver lining ^^ third and last tile at class ^^  #zentangle #zentangles #hesedetangdoodles #monotangle #ゼンタングル

And here is my entry for this week’s challenge 🙂 My theme was lace and flowers, pairing Beadlines and Hollibaugh for the lace and Trentwith roses, lightly shaded.

Diva Challenge 204 - Valentangle

And.. I am off 🙂

P.S. Thanks for all the visits and comments. They are always much appreciated ❤

P.P.S If you should require a response from me, or have any questions, I may be contacted at hesedetang[at]gmail.com 🙂 Have a great week!

7 comments

  1. That was a lot to catch up with. I agree that there are only so many things that can do. Have to work at taking care of ourselves and letting go of those things that we like but are not really necessary. Lots of great work to look at. I like how you approached the Moebius Syndrome logo. Also like your approach to Athizi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. It’s true. I think we women just want to get everything done – we create lists and lists of things to do and then we hate ourselves because we can’t finish everything on the list! Haha..

      Like

  2. I love the delicacy with which you created your tile composition for the Zentangle Diva’s challenge. It’s charming. The one you did for your class is very well executed, but it looks a little Union Jackesque—-perhaps a nod to Singapore’s British past.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe, well I am not sure if the conducting CZT was indeed thinking of the Union Jack but I very certainly wasn’t hahaha.. Admittedly, I felt a wee bit too advance for the class which was a 101 class, so to keep in line with everyone else there, I just put aside what I already knew and followed her instructions to a T.

      Like


Leave a Reply

