Zentangles – Diva Challenge 248 & The Sandwich Days of 2015

The Sandwich Days of 2015

Sandwiched between Boxing Day and New Year’s Day every year, are the five days where I can be found at my most deeply retrospective and reflective moods. I like to call them the ‘sandwich days’.

One of my earliest memories of these sandwich days happened when I was just a little girl, maybe about 3 years old. My concept of time; ie. how seconds become minutes.. minutes become hours.. hours become days.. days into weeks.. weeks into months.. months into years.. was only just beginning to take shape then.

It was strange to me, at the time, to find that my mother would encourage me to re-read, re-use or re-utilise toys, books, everyday items but never calendars. Those were thrown out every year and it puzzled me so. My two older cousins were staying over with us for the holidays, and they laughed at how dumb I was (kids can be really mean to each other! It didn’t help that I was the youngest and was always chubby).

It took my 3 year old self quite some time to understand that time does not return to us, that it cannot be ‘re-used’. After this ‘discovery’, I know I was never the same kid.

My sense of appreciation for time, and for the appreciation of all things developed quickly after this.

I never liked excess, and I always made sure I ate everything on my plate (this probably explains my weight!). I made sure I never left any of my belongings behind, anywhere. I was always mindful about using things responsibly and well. (And eventually, this ‘trait’ of mine would give me a desire to upcycle things into useables.)

As time went by, I’d lose some of my nearest and dearest family members to cancer, all at an early age. This made me grow to really cherish people, see people for who they really are, and really cherish the time we have with them.

I believe everyone is put in our lives for a season, to bless us. To love us. For us to love them, discover their inner beauty, learn from them and appreciate them.

This season, a close family member of ours, is losing her second battle to cancer. We are all saddened, still having to keep busy, yet determined to make lasting memories whilst we can. It is never easy to say goodbye.

As we turn the page on 2015, I recognise that I have been incredibly blessed. I have had the privilege to meet and, in some instances, collaborate with many amazing CZTs this year. I have been wantonly blessed with new friendships, new opportunities, and new adventures.

Thank you for being a part of this journey, even if you are only just reading this entry and we’d never met. Have an amazing 2016, our best year yet!

Click below for this blog’s year in review, powered by WordPress….. or scroll down for the Diva Challenge week 248 entry ^_^

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 4,300 times in 2015. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 4 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Diva Challenge Week 248 – Give the Gift of Zentangle

I realise that I am really late, as this challenge was issued on December 14th – LOL!

I decided to post my entry anyway, since it is better late than never 😉

On 19 December 2015, I had an amazing opportunity to participate in the first ever Tangle with Heart event to raise funds for a Singaporean charity called The Red Pencil that is committed to helping individuals who require art therapy.

Many of their beneficiaries are children in trauma.

Together with the organisor, four of us Singaporean CZTs raised $10,000 towards this cause 🙂 A total of four sessions were taught to people who had their first encounter with Zentangle! What a gift, right?

Here’s a peek into the session I taught.. [ as always, clicking on the images will take you to Flickr ]

Tangle with Heart//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Tangle with Heart

Here’s the class mosaic of our first tile 🙂

Tangle with Heart

Second tile ft. Hurry ..

Tangle with Heart

And, for our finale, my very own Cabbit on a Bijou ^_^

Tangle with Heart

This was almost everyone that came – we had some people who had to leave earlier..

Tangle with Heart

Here I am [in the back] with Shannen, the organisor [in red], CZT Wai Fong [in blue] and her friend, Season [behind Wai Fong].

Tangle with Heart

With this, I sign off to belatedly visit everyone’s posts 😛 Again, better late than never, I suppose lolol.. Happy 2016!!

4 comments

  1. Such a beautiful and thoughtful post, Debbie! I feel privileged to have become part of your world and you part of mine. I was sorry to read about your family members. At my age, I have lost many and it’s never easy. Memories last forever though and I visit them often. I’m impressed with your charity work. Such a generous and talented person you are. Hugs, and Happy New Year.

    Like


Leave a Reply

