Zentangles – Diva Challenge 282 & New Tangle ‘DreamDex’

Diva Challenge 282

I have to admit that it was kind of hard to get to this one, as my mind was in a constant state of flux all week. I just couldn’t concentrate or relax and my anxiety levels were quite high. I might try out again, when my mental state improves. Meanwhile, here are some of my older pieces, featuring dripped and splattered on paint…

 

New Tangle – DreamDex

This is my fifth tangle after Dealys, Angeleafe, Cadenza and Cabbit.

When I first put up two images of (what would later be known as) DreamDex onto my FB page, one of my BFFs in North Carolina, USA, informed me that this was the pattern she used very often to calm her down; to help her get to her ‘safe place’, her very own dreamspace.

This BFF is not a tangler, in all the years I’ve known her, but she is an awesome crochet artist. She never once talked about or described how she would mentally tangle this shape, so when she said “Wow.. you read my mind….. how did you know………” I nearly fell off my stool.

Unlike all the previous tangles that I’ve put up step-outs to, DreamDex is a completely new one, even to me. I had chanced upon it whilst doodling grids and “S” shapes at random, a few weeks ago.

It took me some time to figure this tangle out properly and make clear stepouts as I was constantly being interrupted by Life (this year has been beyond crazy, everything seems to be going on all at once – but I’ll spare everyone the details because it looks like even more drama is due to come). Anyway, even I have not had the chance to completely explore and play with this tangle!

I am not usually drawn to grid tangles, as I prefer organic, free-flowing ones.. but something about this one caught my attention. I am reminded of pinwheels each time I look at it, and it does feel strangely gratifying to draw.

My BFF says this one is right on the money, lol. And that I need to put it up before anyone else comes up with something like it. So.. here is DreamDex.. [ clicking on the image will take you to Flickr – where you can use Flickr’s zoom-in function ]

 

[  Please feel free to refer to the step outs to recreate DreamDex in your tangles, or link back to this page. However I reserve my rights to these images and they should not be copied or reproduced. Thank you! – Debbie New CZT 18   ] 

Here are a couple of DreamDex tiles. I may update with more soon, once I can get some time to tangle!

DreamDex - a new tangle pattern

The “Dex” in DreamDex is also a reference to my other cat Dexter [ Dealys was named after Dyllis ], whom we call “Dexdex” very often. Dexter sounds way too serious for him sometimes, especially when he squeaks in response….

DreamDex - a new tangle pattern

This last photo is of a collaboration between myself and Janet Day, a tangler based in WA, USA. Janet started off the tile with Sandswirl, Finery, Flux and Fescue. Her line work is so gorgeous, I decided to set it off with some additional depth and contrast. Can you spot DreamDex peeking out under one of those layers? 🙂

Travelling Tangles Project

I used a black watercolour pencil for shading, instead of my usual graphite, and I think some parts were not blended in as well as I would have liked. I had also wanted to add more danglies around Janet’s tile, but I never got around to it. Oh well, at least this post finally made it up? Yeah, I think so…

Have a great week 🙂

3 comments


Leave a Reply

